North Lamar Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees acts as the school district's policy-making body and is the official representative of the people for all public education in North Lamar Independent School District. The Board functions according to state and federal laws, the rules and regulations established by the State Board of Education, and the Texas Education Agency.

The seven members of the Board are elected at-large and serve three-year staggered terms without compensation.  Elections are conducted on the second Saturday in May.

The Board of Trustees elects a president, vice-president, and secretary to serve one-year terms. It selects and employs the superintendent and delegates the responsibility and authority for the operation of the school district to the superintendent. The superintendent advises Board members on all matters concerning school management.

The Board of Trustees meets regularly on the second Monday of each month at 6:00 p.m. Special meetings are called when necessary. All meetings are open to the public and are subject to provisions of Texas Law.

School Board Members

2018-2019 School Board

Front row, Sheila Daughtrey, Stephen "Red" Holmes (president), Kristi Trammell (secretary)
Back row, Kyle Coston, Jeff Martin (vice-president), Tim Stone, Rickey Richardson
About Our Board Members
Stephen “Red” Holmes was elected to the board in May of 2014.  He is currently in his second term and fourth year on the North Lamar ISD Board as President.  He is a graduate of Paris Junior College and retired from the Paris Police Department as a Detective Sergeant with 28 years of service to the community.   

Jeff Martin was elected May 2015 and is currently in his first term and third year on the Board as Vice-President.  He is owner of Martin Subways.

Kristi Trammell was appointed September 2014 to fill vacant position left by Dave Osborne and then elected May 2015.  She is currently serving as Secretary in her first term and third year.  She is a graduate of University of Texas-Tyler.

Tim Stone was elected May 2013 and is currently serving in his second term and fifth year on the board.   He is a graduate of Texas A&M University and is area sales manager for Martin Marietta Materials, Inc.

Kyle Coston was elected May 2013 and is currently in his second term and fourth year on the board.  He is a NLHS graduate and is plant manager for Coston & Son Ready Mix.

Sheila Daughtrey was elected May 2017 and is currently serving in her first term and first year on the Board.  She is a graduate of Texas A&M University-Commerce.  She is a retired teacher from North Lamar ISD where she taught for 33 years. 

Rickey Richardson was appointed June 2017 to replace the vacancy left by Paul Drake's resignation.  He attended East Texas State University and is President of Champion Motors. 

North Lamar Independent School District © 2016. All rights reserved.

powered by ezTaskTitanium TM